Triumphal Delights

October 1, 2017

Daniel Hass, cello (Stulberg International Competition Gold Medalist)
Markand Thakar, conductor

Kraushaar Auditorium, Goucher College (Free easy parking! View map in PDF)
Sunday, October 1, 2017, 3:00 p.m.

ROSSINI Overture from The Italian Girl in Algiers
LESHNOFF Cello Concerto
BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 7

Rossini’s overture from The Italian Girl in Algiers opens the season, drawing us into a festive mood. Rossini’s playfulness and mastery is on full display. The dramatic Cello Concerto by Jonathan Leshnoff, BCO’s composer-in-residence, is full of nervous energy that announces its presence with authority. It is performed here by Stulberg International String Competition winner, Daniel Hass. The concert concludes with Beethoven’s powerful Symphony No. 7. Instantly popular, instantly recognized as a work of genius — the second movement was encored at its premiere! — this is a titanic work and magnificent season starter.
Learn about the Music





Stephan Dohr